Extra-Curricular Activities

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Academic Challenge Bowl (ACB)

Advisor: Katie Muratore (kmuratore@avoncsd.org/226-2455 ext. 1512)

Student Participation: Students in Grades 6 through 8

The Academic Challenge Bowl's format is similar to a quick recall academic quiz bowl program seen on television.  Teams of students in grades 6 through 8 from each participating district compete in preliminary rounds against students from other schools. These preliminaries are followed by playoffs and a championship tournament.

 

Interscholastic Mathematics Competition (Middle School Math Team) 

Advisor: Corine Ghyzel, Grades 7/8 Math Teacher (cghyzel@avoncsd.org/226-2455 ext. 1514)

Student Participation: Students in Grades 7 and 8 

The Interscholastic Mathematics Competition provides middle school students with the opportunity to compete in mathematics with other students throughout the area.  The middle school team meets throughout the year to test their skills and abilities in mathematical areas that are directly aligned with the NYS Common Core Mathematics Standards.

 

Junior National Honor Society

Advisor: Kate French (kfrench@avoncsd.org/226-2455 ext. 1515)

Student Participation: Students in Grade 8

 

Middle School Drama Productions

Advisors: Cynthia Towler (ctowler@avoncsd.org/226-2455 ext. 1610) and Stephanie Campbell (scampbell@avoncsd.org/226-2455 ext. 1517)

Student Participation: Students in Grades 5-8

In the fall there is a middle school production that requires students to audition for roles the selected musical.  Students also welcome to audition for the yearly production of SCROOGE.

Both productions are always looking for students to help behind the scenes (lighting, set design, sound, and stage crew)

 

Middle School Student Council

Advisor: Stephanie Campbell (scampbell@avoncsd.org) and Lindsey Jensen (ljensen@avoncsd.org)

Student Participation: Students in Grades 5 through 8

 

Modified Sports 

Contact Person: Andy Englert, Athletic Director (aenglert@avoncsd.org/226-2455 ext. 1717)

Student Participation: Students in Grades 7 through 8

 

  • Fall Sports: Cheerleading, Cross-Country, Football, Soccer, and Volleyball

  • Winter Sports:  Basketball, Cheerleading, Swimming, and Wrestling

  • Spring Sports:  Baseball, Golf, Softball, Tennis, Lacross and Track and Field

 

PageTurners - Chapter II 

Advisor: Jessica Mucci (jmucci@avoncsd.org/226-2455 ext. 1651)

Student Participation: Students in Grades 6 through 8

PageTurners is a literature-based competition for students in grades 3-12. Teams prepare to answer questions by reading books on an official books list provided by PageTurners.  Team compete in a round robin format with near by schools, and division winners advance to a region-wide final tournament. 

 

PeerMentoring/Buddies

Advisor: Maria Panella (mpanella@avoncsd.org/226-2455 ext 1411)

Student Participation: Students in Grades 5 through 8

 

Swimming and Diving Program

Advisor: Dan Paganin (Varsity Swimming Coach/226-2455 ext. 1509)

Student Participation: Students in Grades 6 through 8

The purpose of this program is to develop technique in the four competitive swimming strokes or to learn the introductory techniques of competitive springboard diving. This is a fun two week program in the spring with one culminating swimming and diving meet at the end of the program.

 

7th Grade Class Advisor- Leah Young

8th Grade Class Advisor- Stephanie Campbell